AI, Pathfinding and Performance

Hello! I recently started playing 0AD again, and I must say, it's looking good!

One thing I noticed is that during game-play, in the late game, everything slows down (2 humans vs 2ai; 300 pop cap). I haven't looked at any performance metrics yet (I may here in my next game), but I'm interested in looking into and possibly working on some stuff to help speed this up.

From what I've gathered, there are 2 issues (please correct me if I'm wrong):

1. The Renderer is somewhat bound by simulation.

2. In late game specifically, the AI is the main slowdown; partly due to pathfinding, and use of a single thread.

With that in mind, I've looked thru some of the code, specifically the code here : https://trac.wildfiregames.com/browser/ps/trunk/source/simulation2/components/CCmpAIManager.cpp

It looks like it has been partly setup to use threads, but doesn't yet? I've also read that there's some concept of moving some of the AI related JS code to C++.

Anyways (I apologize if this seems a little scattered), I was wondering what the current plan is for this. I noticed there are a few performance related tickets open, and some have been worked on.

Really, I'm just looking for maybe some clarification of where to go from here (specifically, if there are known problem-areas, I'd like to be aware of them before-hand, knowledge sharing on these things is important). I have some time that I could dedicate to this ... and I'm very interested in performance improvements.