Help needed

Hi all you experts,

since a few days i started learning the use of Blender to create models. For that i'm downloading several 3D-Models and tried to make actors for the game. In Blender i import the *.fbx, *.obj or *.dae files and export them as *.dae. There are game-ready models or models with according UV-Maps and so on. For some created actors there is no need of uv-maps, so they became the <material>objectcolor<material>, others with "spec", "AO" or "norm" Maps became the other available materials.

In only the half i got a more or less acceptable result:

grafik.thumb.png.64971a183a0caf669a2c18542fd3f83e.png

In most cases, i got the error:

grafik.thumb.png.7d5e6ab70cec5d6fdafa0a12ae2cbef3.png

I've followed

and search the www for help.

So, concret a simple example:

grafik.thumb.png.7d4a5005c49f8cd0d732ff971c4d0533.png

files: cottage.zip

All tries on my side resulting in the error above :( ... Sometimes, when deleting the materials, i got the actor working, but then without textures.

Please can you describe in a few steps, what i'm making wrong? I'm sure, it is only a little thing for you ...

Thank you in advance for your efforts.

grafik.png

1 minute ago, Angen said:

hi, 

make sure that all vertexes are connected, there cannot be the standalone vertexes.

also whole model needs to be one object. 

faces needs to be triangles, so or triangulate when exporting or use triangles directly. 

Hi,

thank you for the quick reply. All the things you say, i've done dozen times. Please, can you take a look at the files i've added? Please, just import the "cottage.obj" into blender, export as *.dae and attach the *.dae temporarly to an simple actor of the Main-Game and try to show him in Atlas. Thank's again in advance for your efforts.

Well you need to delete the materials. And if they somehow use different textures you have to either

Merge all the textures into one and tweak the uvs.