I need some help and have some questions.

Coronaut

Hello, 

Last year I posted an idea for a new civic center mechanic (link below) that I think would be a good addition to the game. I wanted to make it myself, so, for the past year I persisted and tried following the modding guides and forum posts, but realized since I have little experience with the game development process and coding it wouldn’t be possible. 

Original Idea: Here

Now, a year later, I’m coming back to the forums to ask questions and be more involved in the community. Please excuse my ignorance.

What is the difference between modding and developing for 0 a.d.?
Correct me if I am wrong. 
A modder is a solo entity that creates changes in the game’s code how they want with resources already in the game and some they create themselves. 
A developer gets paid to work on the game from the standpoint of completing tickets to make a new and updated release of the game.

Assuming you have no prior experience in game development, what knowledge is required to create mods for this game?
How much coding experience is necessary? 
How many ways are there to obtain the game’s code?
What advantages do you get from using eclipse, or Visual Studio rather than basic notepad? 
Who is the Svn copy for and how should it be used?
Who uses workspaces and build environments Modders or Developers? What are 
they? What are they for?
How do you quickly test if something worked or not?

As you can tell I have no idea what I’m doing. If you can help me it would be greatly appreciated. :help:

-K(C)oronaut

Edited by Coronaut
Was a block of text.
  • Like 2