Ticket 1774 discussion and feedback

I am realativly new to programming for 0ad and am picking up tickets in order to learn the code design and layout. I have decided to take on something a little more than just simple bug fixes or finishing something someone else has started (and also something which is more javascript than c++ so I can learn more about that aspect).

Ticket 1774 (http://trac.wildfire...com/ticket/1774) wants a quick way to see how many units are garrisoned in a structure or unit without having to click on it. So when you are trying to fill up all of your towers with troops you don't have to keep clicking around to see which ones still need them. Using one of the ticket's suggestions I through together a quick patch which displays the number of units as a status bar (The patch is with the ticket). The patch uses the icons for packing for now because I am not an artist.

I did this simple implementation to act as a spring board for discussion and feedback. The ticket mentions several other suggestions as well like not allowing the enemy to see how many units are garrisoned in your structures (I think with my simple implementation the enemy can see this information). I actually like this idea because it adds an unknown element. The enemy would not see the garrison status bar. It has a few other ideas as well.

The other question is: Is a status bar a good way to display this information?

Thanks.

This is a sound subject, kingadami.

Long story short, yes, i think a status bar would be good.

I hate to always be using Starcraft 2 as example for all features i'd like to see in 0AD, but It's the only RTS (besides 0AD, obviously) that I've been playing lately and one of the few i know deeply (in terms of gameplay features), so let's proceed.

As i said, I agree with the status bar idea, but IMO they should be small. Look at the screenshot:

1.jpg