Programmer looking to contribute

Hello everyone. I'm currently a Computer Science senior @ university and one of my classes this semester requires that I contribute to one or more open source projects.

I'm in the process of getting familiar with the project, but I'm hoping you guys are still in need of programmers. I have a lot of experience programming 2D games in C++ using SFML, even limited network programming, but very little OpenGL or graphics programming experience. So I hope to contribute to the areas of game play mechanics and possibly AI.

If you have any suggestions on some work that needs to be done that nobody has gotten around to let me know. If you do have a suggestion start me off with something smaller so I can become familiar with the project :) Otherwise I will get around to checking your issue tracker. Look forward to meeting/speaking with you guys.

• Like 1

Hi, if you haven't seen it yet, I'd start with our introduction for programmers on Trac: http://trac.wildfiregames.com/wiki/GettingStartedProgrammers

That should at least point you in the direction of some interesting links. The other thing I would do is spend time in #0ad-dev on IRC as it suggests. The activity level varies but if you have questions and stick around for a while, you will likely be answered. Try getting the game's source code from SVN and compiling it, then play around for a while to get a feel for how it works. At that point you might find something interesting to work on, or at least understand the context of any ticket you want to work on.

I spoke with about 4-5 other programmers in my class, they all sounded interested in helping out, so you guys might get a few more programmers besides myself.

Keep in mind we all have other classes and commitments, so I don't know how much we're going to end up contributing in the end, but thank you for the warm welcomes :)

• Like 1