Why build with XP toolset?

I'm just getting started in setting up a build environment on Windows, but I've got a nagging question that I couldn't find an answer to in the wiki or forum after some searching - 

Why is the project still being built with a Windows XP-compatible toolset if support for XP was dropped (due to spidermonkey)? Is it just a matter of nobody prioritizing moving off the toolset or is there some more subtle reason? 

44 minutes ago, stephenjust said:

Why is the project still being built with a Windows XP-compatible toolset if support for XP was dropped (due to spidermonkey)? Is it just a matter of nobody prioritizing moving off the toolset or is there some more subtle reason? 

It's basically that. It requires rebuilding all the libraries one by one and we did not do that yet.

I also do not know the consequences of not using it. Will it still work on W7 for example.

Then there is the CI to update too.

1 hour ago, hyperion said:

It's unlikely that a newer toolset causes issues. C linkage is rather stable. Just take it as a well tested setup. If a newer toolset or Visual Studio causes problems reports are certainly welcome.

I'm talking about compatibility issues, and SDK problems, what do we use 7.0, 8.1, 10.***(Win10) 10.22000+(Win11) I have no idea what works on which version of Windows

1 minute ago, Stan` said:

I'm talking about compatibility issues, and SDK problems, what do we use 7.0, 8.1, 10.***(Win10) 10.22000+(Win11) I have no idea what works on which version of Windows

Sure for release and CI builds anything newer then windows 7 sdk isn't an option, just meant to say if you build for yourself choose what you like.

• Like 1