Beginners help needed

Reth

Hi everybody,

first of all I want to thank for this great game with all the excellent graphics, details, historical background and the load of efforts that comes with that!

Awfully great work indeed!

Since I'm completely new to 0AD and really "unskilled" in terms of RTS but liking this genre most of all game genres I'm nearly at frustration after trying the single player game several times.

When starting it I leave the stetup as provided: AI=Hellens me=Persians. I've a strong defense character trying to achieve things from a save setup and background. But even when I tried to get lots of troops of different type as soon as possible I'm always hopefully outnumbered and even more I've got the impression that any kind of Persien troop seems to be in inferior position to the Hellens. Regardless whether it is infantry, archers, cavalry or lancer.

I assume it is to my kind of playing even if I try different of the tactics/strategies/tips that are already given by 0AD that I'm still underlaying!

So does anybody has some helpful advice or maybe even a step-by-step description how to act in order to win this match against the AI (experienced don't hesitate to lough here, but pleas help anyway)?

I'm totally frustrated since nothing helps! Even when holding several attacks I'm defeated at last since I cannot evolve enough between those in order to fight back! (I assume AI does not cheat in any way.)

So what are the appropriate steps to go in order to defend against the Hellens and to strike back (I know of appropriate howtos for example for any of the groups contesting Starcraft)?

Please help with some fruitful advice to get me a glitch on how the forces and approaches of 0AD!

Some descriptions of the particular Persien and Hellen troops would be helpful (I only found descriptions for particular troops of one nation - I think some Hellen ones - within the tutorial!