0ad and unit testing

Hello there,

as a professional C++ programmer I do a lot of testing in numerous projects. It was kind of surprise when I discovered that there are no unit tests in 0ad.

I'd like to ask what led to such situation? Is it only matter of lack of time?

Regardless the cause, I'd like to start a discussion on this subject.

What UT frameworks are you experienced in? Which one of them you think would fit to 0ad?

There is also other important thing we should concern - perhaps JavaScript should also be tested. I'm rather seasonal JS programmer, so your opinion would be highly appreciated.

$ ./test Running 286 tests...[...]...OK!
That looks like more than 64 to me :P

It's still true that's not really a lot, though, and more would be nice. We're using CxxTest which I think works fine, with some custom code to run a few mostly useless tests on simulation component scripts.

I think the main reason for a lack of unit tests is that (as far as I'm aware) we don't have many bugs that unit tests would find - the usual bugs nowadays seem to be undesired gameplay behaviour, or problems with the interactions between gameplay components, and I don't think it's feasible to find them through automated testing. Unit tests aren't an end goal in themselves - the goal is to find existing bugs and future regressions - so there's not much motivation to write tests for code that already seems to work fine.