I am looking for information about game developing

FreddyEdge

Hi there. I just found about the project 0AD today and it seems a lot intresting that is open source and many people work together to produce this nice result.

Straight in the subject. I have no experience of computer programing and I have just started learning blender to produce some very basic 3d models. I would like to

learn about game development and the overall process of creating a game (how it is set up, how it works, how the code is built and implemented etc.). Though I sadly

cannot afford a school to study about the topic. I am an individual who just wants to learn about the process of game making. So I just thought to ask you for some inforamtion

so maybe at some later point I could even contribute to your game.

The information I want to ask you about are : how a game is made ? how it works ? how could I learn from studying your project ? are there any books/videos/tutorials that could explain

the overall process of game making (like this one) ? where could I start learning about game making ? Also, could anyone of you afford a little time of explaining the above things to me ?

I would like to make a very simple game of my own for start. An Real Time Strategy. I don't care about the quality, I just want to learn the process and to be able to build a working game

that could run in windows. I have searched a bit in the files of other games (Civilization 4) but I couldn't understand anything. I have also downloaded visual studio and I would like to study the code of your game. 

So in conclusion : where can I start learning about game making ? (but in detail. I need guidance and explanation of all the process.) What tools do I need ? (How could I create my own very basic RTS game ?). 

Thanks in advance for any information that you could share with me. (I love the project you are currently working).

I'm not going to answer all the question. The line about no programming experience.