Importance of researching technologies(HELP)

joelsonjoel

Hello there.

I'm a noob to this game, and i'm not really sure about the importance, or better, how to time researching technologies. I'm playing alpha 23, and I'd like to know if I have to try and get blacksmith technologies as fast as I can or if it's better to use my resources to keep producing units and buildings. I'm sure that they are really important as they gives you a real boost to your troops, and I'm not talking about gathering technologies, as I always research them asap, but I keep strugling with blacksmith and fortress technologies, because they are really expensive.

Thanks for the help guys!

• Like 2

5 hours ago, joelsonjoel said:

Hello there.

I'm a noob to this game, and i'm not really sure about the importance, or better, how to time researching technologies. I'm playing alpha 23, and I'd like to know if I have to try and get blacksmith technologies as fast as I can or if it's better to use my resources to keep producing units and buildings. I'm sure that they are really important as they gives you a real boost to your troops, and I'm not talking about gathering technologies, as I always research them asap, but I keep strugling with blacksmith and fortress technologies, because they are really expensive.

Thanks for the help guys!

Best way to learn is by watching replays of the best players.

• Like 1

Hello @joelsonjoeland welcome to the forums! :)

Personally, I think it's good to have a lot of units. And upgrade them simultaneously, if possible. If you can put up a dropsite as a gathering point on the way to your strategic goal and have your troops gather resources, they'll pay for their upgrades themselves.