Kushites, Spartans and AI abilities

PhelpsGlen

Hello!
I am a newbie, hoping that this is the right place to write.

After enjoying several matches with 0 A. D., I would like to give a feedback. Of course, this is only my opinion, the one of a single user with "average" abilities: not the best, not the worse. I write only hoping that this can give some help and a point of view.

1. There seems to be a sort of unbalance between the strength of Kushites with respect to others. Kushites are possibly the best faction in the current version of the game: their only lack is siege machines (however, well replaced by elephants). But maybe they are too strong. The extremely cheap Meroitic pikemen produce a lot of damages against any other unit in the game and they are very hard to defeat, even when alone. Considering the other factions, there is no equivalent unit, IMHO. Almost the same is for the Nubian archers: 10-15 of them produce a lot of damages against any enemy arrangement (only the Roman testudo can limit the losses): they are very effective, maybe too much with respect to the other factions. This seems not to depend on the developed blacksmith technologies. Please, don't misunderstand this: I do not mean that Kushites should be weakened, but rather that the other factions could be strengthened. You can beat Kushites only when you have neatly superior numbers and it is not always the case, especially when playing against the AI (medium).
  2. Spartans are one of the most lacking factions in the game: they can not build walls, they have no champion cavalry units. Again, why not to add units and/or abilities to them?