Game Programmer - Chris

Introduction:
I have been playing 0 AD for about a year or so, and have always loved the game. I used to like the old school Age of Empires games when I was a kid (granted, I may still be a kid trapped in a 25 year old body) and really love playing 0 AD... I happen to like a lot of games that have great gameplay even if they don't have the best graphics (you can still catch me playing Diablo 2 or Half Life 1 mods).

I have a bachelors degree in Computer Science and Business Administration from the University of Rhode Island, although most of my work experience is related to System Administration and a little bit of web development. However, my schooling was mostly related to programming (and I self taught myself programming since a young age) and that's the direction I really want to go with my career, so this would be a great opportunity to work on those skills. I live in Rhode Island (the state with the highest unemployment rate in the country) so this year I have been making ends meet with a physical labor job, so I really need to keep my skills sharpened. Moreover, I got into a head on collision a week ago and therefore won't be working for a while, giving me plenty of time to help work on your game.

One issue - I don't have internet at the place that I currently live, it's a rather ghetto living arrangement. I can use wifi at public places or go to my mother's house to use it. However, if I don't respond to emails the same day, it's not because I'm trying to ignore you.

On to the application....

Application:
Position: Game Programmer, although I'm also interested in helping out in other areas, such as creating maps.

Non-Commercial/Volunteer: Yes, I'm aware of the nature of the work. I'm not a materialistic person anyway. I also believe that it's honorable to create free and open source software.