A blender user introduction

Hello everyone,

I'm a french R&D engineer working in a laboratory named Inria, I'm also a 3D hobbyist with few years of experiences with Blender.

I have been contacted by Ludo38 and we discussed about this ambitious project. As a big fan of the first Age of Empire and loving history of ancient civilisation, I would be glad to contribute to the artistic assets of this game.

I recently participate to a challenge organized by the site Blender Guru and my contribution (babylon gardens) has been posted on this forum, you can have a look of my skills on my Deviant art page (http://shadosk.deviantart.com/).

I can work on modelling buildings and units with rigging and skinning, textures and eventually animations, I would like to know where to start.

Shad

Hello Shadosk! Welcome to the forums! :)

Impressive portfolio! I love your characters design and models!

Which is your primary interest in modelling? organic/nature assets? hard-surface buildings?

We've actually paused work on renewing our unit meshes due to some problems on blender's collada exporter with bones, but we'll need new meshes and animations eventually, so if you have animation experience will be very useful in the near future.

We're currently developing the Ptolemaic kingdom faction. We need buildings models and unit textures. I've started some of them already, but there's a lot of them left to do if you are interested. There are a bunch of sources and references in this thread: http://www.wildfireg...showtopic=16960

Here is the thread of the buildings I started, so you can see the direction we're aiming: http://www.wildfireg...showtopic=17296

Here's a list of the buildings that nobody is working on yet:

-blacksmith

-docks

-corral

-library

-market

-lighthouse

-military settlement