GUI Scripting interface / game setup

Hi, I'm new here, so first let me say I'm quite excited about this project, as one of my friends and I simply love playing AoK together. I'm a computer engineer who enjoys hacking around, experimenting with new ideas, and making things work.

Now, I've delved head-first into the code base, and can see already the importance of scripts in the functioning of the game. It's a great idea. I would like to contribute, and so have selected something simple to play with (or so I thought), which is to modify the game setup a bit.

Modifying the GUI layout is trivial (though admittedly would be easier with an editor). I've added a column to choose "civilization" for the players. The problem of course, is when I want to write the script to hook these GUI objects up to the engine. It seems there is a lot hard-coded into the scripts (both setup and map generation) simply to get them to run with a human and some other dummy players, which is fine since it's an alpha. I discovered there's much missing from the scripting interface and it seems in need of some serious thought more than hacking up a bit of additional behavior.

I'm also not keen on making changes like this without first finding out who's responsible for it now, and also if there's active work on it. Would be interesting to bounce some ideas around, maybe in this thread.

Hope to hear back from some of you,

historic_bruno

• Replies 50
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Welcome :victory: