Hello and Patch Review Request

Hello 0 A.D. developers!

My background is mostly in C#, but a few years ago I did write a basic game engine in DirectX and C++. I've followed this project on and off for a while. Now I find out that you've gone open source - very cool!

I've started looking through the source code, doing some basic testing at home (I was actually able to play a network game against myself! Sweet!).

To get started, I assigned myself ticket #402 from the 'simple' list. I've submitted a patch for this; could someone review it (attached to the ticket) and commit it to SVN for me?

Thanks!

(And yeah, you should probably set up a separate forum or online form for patch submissions. :) )

Hello, and thanks for your interest in 0 A.D. And of course for your patch, one of the programmers will take a look at it soon, and hopefully it will just be to commit it. Otherwise they'll get back to you in this forum.

(When we get more patch review requests we'll definitely set up something specifically for them, but until then this forum is probably the best alternative in my humble opinion. There's no reason to add more complexity if it doesn't add any value (like making it easier to find the patch review requests). We're in the process of redesigning the website though so I'll bring this up for discussion and we'll see what solution the team thinks is best. :) )

You're welcome!

I agree it should be really simple; I only mentioned a separate form/process/something would be helpful because submissions might be lost easily in a forum thread, especially if it contains multiple submissions in different posts.

Edited by Caius

Thanks, applied :)

By the way, do you have a real name and/or email address? It'd be nice to keep this list relatively up to date (although I'm not sure we've done a perfect job of that so far...), to keep track of who's patched the code in any way.